a contagious love for family

11 Oct

My daughter came home with an all too common description of an attitude about family life.  It wasn’t her view, rather it is one often heard at ones’ work place, waiting in the grocery line,  or talking with a friend.

“My kids are brats!”

“Unfortunately, I have to take care of my kid this weekend.”

“I can’t wait until they grow up and move out!”

Likely, if this is what is spoken of the children, what is said about the spouse is probably just as bad. This kind of comment comes near to guaranteeing an unhappy home!  They are a reflection of the parents bad attitudes and have life long affects on the children and marriage.  Word’s are powerful. They can be used to tear down or build up.Take time to reflect…

What do my words say to  those I love?

What have I said about my spouse to others?

What damage have I done to my family?

How can I begin to rebuild relationships?

~~~~~~

As the sun rises with each day, we are each given a new beginning, a choice.

Like Anne of Green Gables  says, “today is a new day without any mistakes in it!”

~~~~~~

 I choose to not only bear with each person’s  idiosyncrasies, but to take delight in them.

I will take time to whisper words of  appreciation into their ears.

I will let them know I believe in them and encourage them.

I will tell them of my unconditional love.

I will speak highly of them in the presence of others.

I will teach them to measure their own words…

How do they talk to each other?

How do they speak to us, as parents?

How do they portray their siblings to others?

How can they rebuild those fragile relationships they may have damaged?

~~~~~~~~~~

We highly value family life.  

Whether in the work place, in the grocery line,

or talking with a friend may our words portray a contagious love for our family.

4 Responses to “a contagious love for family”

  1. Kim Schieche October 11, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    Wow – the pictures are just beautiful. I love even seeing the backside of those precious heads. Wish I could hug you all.

    I’ve been meaning to email you this quote from Steve Jobs. As I was reading it, I couldn’t help but think that he was describing my life to the tee. I know you’ll feel the same way.

    “Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it. And, like any great relationship, it just gets better and better as the years roll on. So keep looking until you find it. Don’t settle.”

    Love you and miss you!
    Kim

  2. faye October 11, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    Oh thank you again for more great reminders Becky! I love it, I love you, I love your family, and I love how you love each other! Such a great example for the Kingdom. And what Kim quoted was excellent as well.
    much love to you ~ faye

  3. Judy October 12, 2011 at 8:11 am #

    Amen

    • Not Without Aim October 15, 2011 at 7:10 am #

      Kim, that is a great quote! I am so thankful for my job as a wife and a mom. I wouldn’t trade it for anything – it just keeps getting better and better!
      Also, thank you dear friends – Kim, Faye, and Judy for being such good friends and faithful encouragers in my life. I appreciate each of you!

Leave a Reply

